New Romance: Art and the Posthuman

To be honest, I never expected a collaborative exhibition between Australian and Korean artists to work at all, let alone convey concepts very smoothly. That was probably the main reason why I found this gallery very interesting. There were a lot of interesting artworks to see here, but probably my favourite was Kibong Rhee’s Perpetual Snow. I liked how it questions the flow of life and the constant evolution of human development, all the while drawing circles and lines casually at a steady rate. I also liked the synthetic hand used to draw those shapes. It really gives off a unique vibe to me, especially given how the ‘falling snow’ motif is prominent in this artwork. The concept that the artwork is trying to convey – the disappearance and eventual obscurity of the human conscious – relly made me think.

Leave a comment